AMENDMENT 2 (New Approach Missouri)
Updated: Aug 27, 2018
In Missouri, there will be several qualifying conditions that a certified physician will be able to provide a recommendation for as treatment:
4. Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
5. A chronic medical condition that causes severe and persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with Multiple Sclerosis, Seizures, Parkinson’s, and Tourette’s Syndrome
6. Debilitating psychiatric disorders including, but not limited to, PTSD, if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist
7. HIV or AIDS
8. A chronic medical condition normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to a physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of cannabis could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
9. Any terminal illness
10. In the professional opinion of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating, or other medical condition, including, but not limited to Hepatitis C, ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease), inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome.
Once a recommendation from a certified physician is obtained, then what?
Patient Access Card through Department of Health & Senior Services can be obtained for an annual cost of $25.00 for those patients who will be buying their medicine through a retail dispensary. Patients who choose to, can cultivate their own supply at an annual cost of $100 for that Access Card. Primary Caregiver Identification Cards will cost $25.00 annually. There is a limit of up to six (6) flowering plants per patient.
Now for the bureaucratic disclaimers of limitations….
Patients are limited to not less than four (4) ounces every 30 days (depending on state legislature final approval to see if limit may be higher). Two (2) independent approved doctors can certify for more.
Patients may possess up to a 60 day supply (purchased) or 90 day supply (self-cultivated) at any time.
Possession of between the legal limit and up to twice the legal limit can lead to sanctions of an administrative penalty and loss of patient access card for up to a year.
Possession of amounts in excess of twice the legal limit can lead to imprisonment of up to one (1) year and a fine of up to $2000.